Studying

What are you studying? Are you in school? How do you like to study?

Now that I’m out of school I’m spending a lot of time studying math (I kinda wish I majored in that instead of EE). Right now I’m focusing on abstract algebra, and once I get a better foundation I’ll start working on game theory and coding theory. I have some philosophy books for when I get bored of that.

I pretty much just read whatever textbooks the internet tells me are best (the /sci/ wiki is my go-to), and get them from abebooks or lib-gen.

How do you define studying? Is it just reading academic texts or is it a more intensive form of reading? I know I don’t study for school but I might be in a constant state of studying for personal gain.

I was thinking about that as I made the thread, and the best I could come up with on the spot is “learning material at a deep enough level that it could be used as a foundation for learning more advanced material”. so a pop-sci book about QM wouldn’t count because you’d need to relearn everything from scratch to actually work with it, but Khan Academy definitely counts, as could an audio book or even a particularly rigorous podcast.

Ok I’ll toss my hat in.

I’m in the process of reading 2 books right now. One could constitute studying, the other definitely does.

Re-reading Richard Garfield’s Characteristics of Games. I read it first when I found out about it like 3 years ago when I found geeknights but I feel it’s worth a second go.

I’m also reading for the first time David Goldberg’s Genetic Algorithms because those seem to be all the rage these days and I’d like to be able to implement them and they didn’t teach me how to when I got my degree.

I didn’t study even when I was in school.

You read 0 books at RIT?

I sometimes read the assigned books for literature classes. I also read books for pleasure.

Animals on the cover books.

I only referenced them while working. I’ve never read one.

にほんごおべんきょしますよ。でもそれでわりです。