Really Fast Aeroplanes!

Let’s talk about really fast fighter jets (and I’ll post my DCS streams here :slight_smile: )

2 Likes

Best Jets. Fight me. (don’t really american football isn’t really my game)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=82RIfy-gRa4

vs

Which is worse go.

(It’s my understanding that the F-35 has been something of a comedy of errors since it’s inception.

1 Like

It is my opinion that things were more interesting when Boeing & McDonnell Douglas were separate companies and especially before all three big manufacturers were in bed with each other. Corruption and lack of genuine competition, as well as all the pork and politics sucks. I’m no expert though, just my gut instinct. I fondly remember spending exactly 5 seconds sitting in one of the McDonnell Douglas flight simulators as a teenager in the CAP.

1 Like

It’s funny because the same thing was said about the Hornet back in the day. However, it did get delivered on-time and on-budget.

I’ve watched this documentary twice. Once 15 years ago when my thought was “oh wow, this new plane looks really cool” and once last year and my thought was “oh man, this plane was screwed right from the start!”

https://youtu.be/Y_WPLeDmU6o

It seems that Boeing learnt lots of lessons trying make the American version of Concorde, and went against anything too complicated and too extreme. Just stick to basic known technology. A wing. Thrust vectoring like the Harrier. Right on.

But in the end it seemed like the F35 won out because… it looked cooler? Looked sleeker?

Anyway, it’s a really great documentary.

1 Like

I believe one of the reasons the X-32 was nixed because the front intake was a severe risk during air-to-air refueling. During testing there was a breakage of the fuel drogue and it started spewing fuel and debris in front of the jet. In the case that it happened again and the fuel/debris entered the front intake, it would cause a catastrophic failure.

1 Like