GeekNights Thursday - The Logistics of Moving

Tonight on GeekNights, Scott having just moved, we consider the logistics of moving. We did talk about this on a GeekNights episode from 2006, but we are older and wiser in this terrifying new age. In the news, the Blizzard situation continues to evolve, the impeachment of Donald Trump becomes more urgent by the hour, we learn about the Sergeant at Arms, all utilities should be nationalized, and we hope you enjoyed the meteor showers.

Things of the Day

Episode Links

https://www.patreon.com/posts/30668355

1 Like

Best strategy my wife found/intuited for moving; get a bunch of different colored tapes and color code your boxes. Once you get to your new place mark each of the rooms with a color and the movers can dump all your shit in the appropriate room without you needing to personally review every box.

So I have some firsthand knowledge about PG&E and the lawsuit. Even though they’re in bankruptcy one of the stipulations of the bankruptcy settlement was that they settle the class action suit for $11 billion. My firm is administrating the settlement.

1 Like

Fascinating.

I strongly believe the company should be seized by the federal government and run as a nationalized industry. I’d compromise and allow the state government to do so if it game to it :wink:

100% agreement. Basically what you and Scott said on the show. Utilities, housing in crowded areas, transportation, medical care, all should be nationalized. My only thing is internet, not sure I’m comfortable with the government being in direct control because of censorship and monitoring but they do that anyway so fuck it I guess.

You mean the Internet that was created by the department of defense? That Internet?

Yup, as I said, its kind of moot so may as well let the government do it.

Finished the episode, cost aside, I would never hire a moving company because I can barely stand to have people I know in my space, much less strangers touching my stuff.